

January 31, 2006

# New committee to develop consistent standards for Alberta's trail network

Edmonton... A new committee will develop a designation program for Alberta's recreational trails.

Members of the Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee were selected for their knowledge of the various aspects of recreation trail planning, design and operation, and have a range of perspectives on who uses and operates the trails, as well as those who may be impacted by them.

"Recreation corridors have a tremendous impact on the health and wellness of Albertans, and on rural economies," said Gary Mar, Minister of Community Development with responsibility for recreation. "However, trails must balance access, privacy and the protection of natural areas. A partnership approach will consider the needs of all users and the environment to achieve this balance."

The Alberta Recreation Corridors Legislative Review in September 2003 recommended a committee be established to develop a designation program. The original review also consulted on liability, safety and policing, operations, maintenance and accountability, privacy and access, and environmental stewardship. The new committee will use the review as a guide to develop its designation program.

"I look forward to working with the committee to develop consistent standards throughout Alberta's trail network," said Ray Danyluk, M.L.A. for Lac La Biche–St. Paul and chair of the committee. "One result I want to see is detailed mapping of Alberta's trails to help users plan their use of the trail system, and to help operators coordinate their services."

Alberta Community Development will provide coordination, administrative and technical support to the Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee. Affected government departments will provide additional support.

- 30 -

Attachments: A list of Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee members.

Media enquiries may be directed to:

Ray Danyluk Chair, Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee (780) 415-9578 Chris Bourdeau Communications Alberta Community Development (780) 427-6530

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000



#### January 31, 2006

## **Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee**

#### **PURPOSE**

In accordance with the Final Report of the Alberta Recreation Corridors Legislative Review Committee, the new coordinating committee will develop criteria, standards, policies and guidelines for an Alberta Recreation Corridor Designation Program.

#### **TENURE**

The Committee will exist until December 31, 2007, unless the term is extended by the Minister of Community Development.

#### <u>REPORTING</u>

The Committee will report directly to the Minister of Community Development.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

## Ray Danyluk, M.L.A. Lac La Biche – St. Paul (Chair)

Ray Danyluk was first elected to the Alberta Legislature in 2001. He chaired the Alberta Recreation Corridors Legislative Review Committee, which recommended a designation program be established. Danyluk also chairs the Northern Alberta Development Council and is a member of the Standing Policy Committee on Agriculture and Municipal Affairs. He is a past reeve and county councillor, and past school board chair and trustee. He has farmed in the Elk Point area for more than 30 years.

## Robert Bouchard, Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties

Robert has been the reeve of the County of St. Paul for 19 years. He was instrumental in the formation of North East Muni-Corr Ltd., a partnership of 10 municipalities that own and manage abandoned rail lines in the region, which transformed into the Iron Horse Trail. He also farms in the area.

## Bruce Rowe, Alberta Urban Municipalities Association

Bruce is the mayor of Beiseker and current association director of villages in the south region. He is involved in the development of the Trans Canada Trail through Beiseker and a Heritage Railway Museum on the trail.

#### Linda Strong-Watson, Alberta TrailNet

As executive director of Alberta TrailNet, Linda works to promote and develop a network of shared use recreation trails managed by local communities. She has extensive experience with negotiating land access for pipelines and road crossings on trails, and is currently involved with a provincial trail mapping project in northeast Alberta.

#### Members at Large

#### **Glen French**

Glen is a self-employed trail planner, assessor and builder who formerly worked in the oil and gas industry. He currently is involved with various snowmobile, off-highway vehicle and stewardship organizations in the Crowsnest Pass region, and is a strong advocate for managed trails.



## **Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee**

#### **Dave** Poulin

Dave is the executive director of the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society-Calgary/Banff Chapter. He was the chair of the Alberta Special Places Program, Legislative Sub-Committee and has worked with Parks Canada on recreation impact consultations. He is an avid hiker in the Rocky Mountains.

#### Cal Rakach

Cal is a land access consultant and president of the Alberta Off-Highway Vehicle Association. He has 30 years experience in the oil and gas industry. He is actively involved in numerous stewardship and access organizations, is a registered trapper and enjoys being in the outdoors and backcountry.

#### Cpl. Ed Jobson

Ed has 19 years of service with the RCMP in Alberta and is currently posted at the Hobbema Detachment. He is also a proud member of the 'K' Division Ceremonial Troop.

#### **Darryl** Copithorne

Darryl's family operates the Copithorne Ranch near Cochrane. He enjoys snowmobiling and ATVing, and is involved with access management issues in Alberta's eastern slopes, including the Ghost-Waiporous Advisory Committee.

#### Jeff Gruttz

Jeff is a director with the Alberta Bicycle Association and works for the City of Calgary's Park Development and Operations branch. He is a self-described bike / pedestrian / alternate travel modes / community liveability advocate. He is also involved with the Friends of Kananaskis Trail Care Group.

#### Louise Sherren

Louise is the executive director of the Alberta Snowmobile Association. She sits on various boards of directors that help further snowmobiling in Alberta, and has been involved in the industry for 19 years. She is also part of the provincial Snowmobiling Safety Task Force.

#### J.D. (Jeff) Reynolds

Jeff is the director of forestry with the Alberta Forest Products Association. He holds a political science degree, a diploma in forest technology, an advanced graduate diploma and a masters of business administration. He is also the president of the College of Alberta Professional Forest Technologists.

#### **Danny Smyl**

Danny is the director of the Riverland Recreation Trail Society and president of the St. Paul Trailblazers Snowmobile Club. He was instrumental in establishing the Iron Horse Trail as construction director and now heads the trail steward program that patrols the trail.

#### Media enquiries may be directed to:

Ray Danyluk Chair, Alberta Recreation Corridors Coordinating Committee (780) 415-9578 - 30 -

Chris Bourdeau Communications Alberta Community Development (780) 427-6530